FREE SAMPLE ISSUE FREE NEWSLETTER DIGITAL ISSUE PREVIEW

Thread: Pros and Cons of Elm?

Default Pros and Cons of Elm?

Hi, I have a few huge logs of elm I procured for free and I've never worked with it before. So I'm just wondering what are some of the problems with milling (with a band-saw mill) and working with elm?

Any pros and cons of the wood would be helpful to fill my complete lack of experience with the wood!

Thanks for any input,
    Jack

Default Re: Pros and Cons of Elm?

From my very limited understanding, red elm has to be cut properly to avoid severe warping during the drying process
    If a man speaks in the forest, and there's no woman around to hear him, is he still wrong

Real Name
    Mark Rose

To add to what Steve said, it also stinks really bad when you work with it...
    Today's mighty oak is just yesterday's nut, that held its ground.

I've only used small amounts a couple of times doing repairs to some antique furniture. I've found it to be easy to cut, mill, plane and sand. I have not noticed any strong smell with it but the stuff I used was well dried. It has a very pronounced grain pattern and it will show through most topcoats. If you wanted a smooth finish I think you'd have to use a grain filler.

Blaine
    "Congratulations. You've just figured out the most complicated way to hold a board 30 inches off the floor."
    Tage Frid

Been a while since I used it -- used to be plentiful round here. The grain pattern is a bit like oak, and I did use grain filler on it. The grey elm I had was pretty hard, and had a number of tiny black "knots" in it that were hard enough to nick blades if you weren't careful. I've been quite pleased with how the pieces made with it have aged -- very little movement and no warping. At one point it was used by the Royal Navy to build ships when they ran out of oak. However it's said to be unsuitable for outdoor furniture becuse it doesn't stand up well to intermittent moisture.
    Jim