FREE SAMPLE ISSUE FREE NEWSLETTER DIGITAL ISSUE PREVIEW

Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: I want to rewire an old Craftsman table saw motor

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    6

    Default I want to rewire an old Craftsman table saw motor

    Hello,

    I'm new to wood working, and just inherited a vintage table saw from my Father in Law. It has a motor on it which is a 115/230V that is currently wired for 230V. I don't have a 230V circuit in my garage to handle it, so I would like to rewire to 115V.

    I opened the terminal cover in hopes of finding wiring instructions, and the only thing I can find is a diagram for reversing the motion. Needless to say, I can't find a manual for the motor, and haven't been able to source one through Sears or internet sites such as vintage machinery.org.

    The model number is 115.19250, and it's a 115/230V 1hp capacitor start type. Does anyone here have any ideas where I could find a wiring guide, or know which winding terminals I would move?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Toronto Ontario
    Posts
    3,267
    Real Name
    A.B. Normal

    Default Re: I want to rewire an old Craftsman table saw motor

    Hi, could you post the diagram you have?

    Thanks, Rod.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: I want to rewire an old Craftsman table saw motor

    P1010015.jpg

    Here's the label underneath the terminal cover. i really appreciate any help here.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: I want to rewire an old Craftsman table saw motor

    Oh boy! I just looked a little closer to the diagram once I uploaded it. I guess I just move the jumpers from 2>3 to 2>1 and 3>4, correct?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Scarborough, ON
    Posts
    277

    Default Re: I want to rewire an old Craftsman table saw motor

    Remove the jumpers between 2 and 3. Put one jumper between 1 and 2 and put the other jumper between 3 and 4.
    Connect 115V to 1 and 4.
    Oh, unplug the saw first.

    Tim

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    sarnia ont
    Posts
    9,477
    Real Name
    Steve Morris

    Default Re: I want to rewire an old Craftsman table saw motor

    Quote Originally Posted by dpantle View Post
    Oh boy! I just looked a little closer to the diagram once I uploaded it. I guess I just move the jumpers from 2>3 to 2>1 and 3>4, correct?
    thats what it looks like to me

    a couple of pics of before and after would be a good reference for others

    how old is the saw?
    Last edited by stevem; 04-09-2012 at 05:26 AM.
    my shop is a beaver lodge
    steve, sarnia, ont

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: I want to rewire an old Craftsman table saw motor

    Sure, I'll do that tomorrow when I get back to it.

    Believe the saw is mid-60's Craftsman 100 series. Nothing fancy, but more than adequate for a beginner such as myself.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: I want to rewire an old Craftsman table saw motor

    Here's what it looks like before and after.

    Before:
    Before.jpg

    And After:
    After.jpg

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    sarnia ont
    Posts
    9,477
    Real Name
    Steve Morris

    Default Re: I want to rewire an old Craftsman table saw motor

    that's a nice setup for changing voltages, most are some combination of moving wires around

    the old craftsman saws from the that era are far better the "small" saws available today, they have quite a following on owwm.org

    my shop and worktruck are both equipped with old beavers from the late 40's, there's nothing wrong with old equipment
    my shop is a beaver lodge
    steve, sarnia, ont

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: I want to rewire an old Craftsman table saw motor

    Yeah, I was expecting to swap winding leads, and was glad to see that jumper setup.

    I was really happy my FIL gave me this unit (as well as quite a few more older power tools). I had to drag this stuff more than a thousand miles back home, but it was well worth the trip. I totally agree that older tools are of far better quality than the Chinese made junk that's out there today. The fact that it can last 50 years and be as functional as the day it was built says a lot about the quality of build.

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    sarnia ont
    Posts
    9,477
    Real Name
    Steve Morris

    Default Re: I want to rewire an old Craftsman table saw motor

    you should post a couple of pics of the old stuff in the powertools section, there's quite a few old tool nuts on here and craftsman stuff is not nearly as common here as it is stateside

    there's also tons of info and stuff on vintage machinery, well worth checking out
    my shop is a beaver lodge
    steve, sarnia, ont

Similar Threads

  1. Craftsman Radial Saw Motor Replacement
    By Scotian in forum Woodworking
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-26-2011, 12:36 AM
  2. Old Craftsman Table Saw
    By woodplane in forum Hand Tools
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-24-2011, 10:34 AM
  3. Craftsman Table Saw $750?
    By GSP in forum Power Tools
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-05-2009, 09:30 AM
  4. Delta 655 TS -> How to rewire to 240V?
    By Gari (Port Moody, B.C.) in forum Shop Electrical
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 03-19-2005, 08:50 PM
  5. Need to rewire a Craftsman Radial Arm Saw
    By Terry Honeycutt in forum Shop Electrical
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 07-18-2003, 11:31 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •