FREE SAMPLE ISSUE FREE NEWSLETTER DIGITAL ISSUE PREVIEW

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Getting a HVLP system... need advice

Hybrid View

Default Getting a HVLP system... need advice

I am thinking of getting a HVLP system, mostly to use for applying finish/stain to wood (but occasionally use for paint if needed).
    I should say up front that I have zero experience with spray system and would like to get something that won't need to upgrade.
    I don't have a spray booth either, so mostly applying it in a garage and I know I should get some good ventilation. I should
    only use waterbased finishes.

I have done some research and it appears that Fuji products are good and you can get an excellent (pro like) finish without breaking the bank.

Have a bunch of questions for those more experienced people here:

1- A general question is about the amount of sanding needed between different layers of finish. Is the procedure the same with spray system or will it reduce the amount of sanding needed between different applications of finish, perhaps because you can get a more even finish each time? I hate sanding!

2- is the MM4 series a good option? Is the upgrade to Q4 worth it? I understand it's the same system with a noise reduction layer added.

3- Should I get a gravity fed gun instead of the standard one?

4- What are the applications/differences/uses of a whipping hose and a flex hose?

5- What would be a good starting package (the system, hoses, niddles, cups, etc)?

What should I be asking that I didn't ask?

comments/suggestions are welcome.

Default Re: Getting a HVLP system... need advice

Funny you should ask. I was just browsing Youtube yesterday looking for info on a gravity feed sprayer for my Fuju system. Here is a sample of what I found. Lots of good stuff on Youtube.
    http://www.youtube.com/results?searc...1203.0j8j1.9.0.
    He who laughs last..............probably didn't get it