FREE SAMPLE ISSUE FREE NEWSLETTER DIGITAL ISSUE PREVIEW

Thread: Veneering Questions

Real Name
    Martin

Default Veneering Questions

Hello guys

I have some nice peruvian walnut that i would like to resaw.
    My plan is to resaw it to 1/8 rough and than sand it down to 3/32 with a drum sander.
    I am a total noob with veneering, i did some reading on joe woodworker's web site but still not sure how to do it.

He don't recommend PVA glue for veneering, he recommends Ultra-Cat PPR veneer glue. I don't think this stuff is available around here, in BC. What type of glue do you guys recommend that would be available in big box store ?

My panels will be 20" by 47" , is it do-able without a veneer press ? (I don't have one)

If yes, what should i use for the substrate, MDF, plywood or particle board ?
    Do i need to glue a layer of that veneer on both side of the substrate ?

Default Re: Veneering Questions

Veneering is fantastic. It opens up a whole new world. Some smaller projects to practice with is a great way to learn some of these new techniques. And if you find this really is something you enjoy buy a vacuum system.

The problem with PVA glue is that it causes the veneer to warp. The thicker the veneer, the less it will warp. Having said that I have used PVA glue with thin veneers (1/32") without problem. DON'T apply the glue directly to the veneer, just the core. Another thing when using PVA glues, don't apply it too heavy. And for each veneer there is a slight difference in what is too heavy. Open pore and burled woods will bleed glue if it's too heavy, causing finishing problems. You can also use other types of glues (I'm guessing the one they recommended was their product, but I don't know that) like Unibond 800, etc.