FREE SAMPLE ISSUE FREE NEWSLETTER DIGITAL ISSUE PREVIEW

Thread: How much bend in a back saw blade is acceptable?

Default How much bend in a back saw blade is acceptable?

Hi everyone, just looking for a bit of info. I have been using my Veritas cross-cut Carcass saw for a few months and I really like the feel of it. I have been noticing that while sawing, I often end up getting a bit of jamming from the saw mid cut. I am trying to maintain proper position, not handle things too tightly and keep a good stance, but it continues to jam slightly. When I was examining the blade tonight I noticed that there is a slight bend in the blade that starts about a third from the end and continues for approximately 3 inches towards the back. Since I am fairly new to this, I am not sure if this happened while cutting (who knows, it might have), but I feel like there hasn't been anything that I would have done that would have been able to bend the blade. In any event, I am just curious to know at what point a bend is a problem. Do all saws have a little bit of bend or warp or are most quality back saws dead straight? Just to clarify, it's hardly noticeable, but I can see it when i look down the blade. Any and all info is much appreciated.

Brian
    Last edited by b_houf; 05-19-2012 at 06:41 PM.

Default Re: How much bend in a back saw blade is acceptable?

Dead straight is preferable. If this is a saw you bought new you should contact them for advice, and don't do anything to it unless they tell you to. With old saws, depending on what kind of saw it is, and what your cutting with it, I've found that you can have a few wobbles with no ill effect, as long as it doesn't bind, or wander. It is probably just a spine adjustment issue, but let the warranty do it's job if their is one.

Toby