FREE SAMPLE ISSUE FREE NEWSLETTER DIGITAL ISSUE PREVIEW

Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: New Lathe

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Victoria B.C.
    Posts
    467
    Real Name
    Gavin Villa

    Default New Lathe

    Hey Guys,
    I'm just in the midst of cleaning up my shop after a few big upgrades. After the dust cleared a little bit I decided to finally let you guys see the little green beast! I'll be sure to add a few better pics in the next few days.
    Say hello to my little friend




    DSCF2164 (1024x768).jpgDSCF2165 (1024x768).jpg
    "To become an able and successful man in any profession, three things are necessary, nature, study and practice."Henry Ward Beecher

  2. #2

    Default Re: New Lathe

    They are a great little lathe I have one slightly older that I have done a few mods to. I wouldnt mind your model it looks like its got planty of potential.

    woodfast 001 (10).jpg

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Atikokan, Rainy River District, Ontario.
    Posts
    6,262
    Real Name
    just what you thought :^')

    Default Re: New Lathe

    Nice lathe Gavin, a shortie , what have you powering it, variable speed motor or the regular belt change speed.

    You might eventually outgrow that lathe, but it should outlast you

    Have fun and take care
    Leo Van Der Loo

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Victoria B.C.
    Posts
    467
    Real Name
    Gavin Villa

    Default Re: New Lathe

    Thanks, Its got a 1.5 baldor on it and its just good old belt change speed. I would like to switch it to variable though....whats involved with that?
    Haha not for a while, the outboard should keep me satisfied in terms of size. The next lathe I plan to get would be a oneway 2436, I think it should last till then
    "To become an able and successful man in any profession, three things are necessary, nature, study and practice."Henry Ward Beecher

  5. #5

    Default Re: New Lathe

    To change it over to a variable is fairly easy after the $$$ have been spent. But you will need to up size your motor to allow for loss of torque. One of the draw backs with the Woodfast is often the motor space is tight. I used a three phase on mine changing it from 1/2hp to 1hp couldnt go any bigger as space would not allow.

Similar Threads

  1. For Sale -- Lathe Headstock Bearings 88505 model 1460 Delta/Rockwell Lathe
    By Mack C. in Brooklin ON in forum The Swap Meet
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11-23-2011, 02:55 PM
  2. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 01-29-2011, 09:34 AM
  3. New Lathe Stand for an Old lathe
    By stevem in forum Turning
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 10-31-2009, 01:49 PM
  4. Taig metal lathe or Sieg C2 metal lathe ?
    By Woodbridge Woody in forum Turning
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-25-2008, 07:05 PM
  5. Pole Lathe vs Power Lathe!
    By Darrell in forum Turning
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-13-2007, 12:54 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •