FREE SAMPLE ISSUE FREE NEWSLETTER DIGITAL ISSUE PREVIEW

Thread: Vacuum Press, Pump or Venturi ?

Real Name
    Martin

Default Vacuum Press, Pump or Venturi ?

Hello

I am a total noob in veneering and I want to build a vacuum press, for those who have been veneering before, should i go with a pump or with a venturi ?

I already have a small PC compressor so venturi seems to be cheaper.

Thx

Default Re: Vacuum Press, Pump or Venturi ?

I built a small venturi-based system but doing it over I would go for a vacuum pump.

Depending on how leaky the system and bag are, the system may need to run more often to maintain the vacuum. If the source of vacuum is from a venturi then the compressor has to run as well, so this can be annoyingly noisy depending on your surroundings.

This is where I got my info for building my system. No affiliation to them.

http://www.joewoodworker.com/veneering/v2-about.htm

Real Name
    Bill

I don't do vacuum veneering but I do vacuum chucking on my lathe. I have used an old dehumidifier compressor with good results although it usually only runs for lets say about 30 minutes. I have read posts around the net about people using refrigerator, freezer, portable air-conditioner, or dehumidfier compressors to veneer.

I recall one person posting a caution of using a portable fan to keep the unit cool since it will run for long periods and you don't want a thermal protection mechanism to trip it off.

The larger the compressor the better as far as handling any leakage so the air-conditioner or dehumidifier likely would be preferred over a refrigerator but I'm not certain about the relative sizing.

billh

Real Name
    Martin

Thanks for the link Legacy. I am veneering pretty big panels, and the pump i would need is 300$ before tax and i need to add another 50$ minimum for shipping, a bit too expensive for me.